Search
Register
What makes someone intelligent?
View previous topic | View next topic >

Strange Famous Forum > Hall of Fame

Nope

What makes someone intelligent?  Reply with quote  

I know I know, but bear with me

Is it simply having a lot of knowledge? Is it maximizing that knowledge?

Those that we regard as geniuses usually are only experts on one thing. A "scientific genius" or "genius mathematician"

So yeah those people are good at that one thing, but again, usually they're not very good at anything else. So just how smart can they be?

Now let's take me for example. People are always saying I'm smart, but I can't do math for shit (I seriously forgot how to subtract for awhile), I hate reading books, and I just don't know that much in general. About anything.

And I don't do anything. How smart can you be if you don't do jack shit all day. If I was smart I would realize that I have some knowledge/abilities and put them to use, right?

So what the fuck. I can't do anything specially well, yet people are always giving me this shit about being smart. And it pisses me off. I keep telling these people I'm dumb as shit (and trust me, there's proof of this daily) but everybody's just like "oh you're just saying that", or "you've just convinced yourself of that.

NO...I just don't know shit, ha

Now I know people that are considered smart cause they know a lot about the enviroment or something, but they don't know shit about history...so again, how smart can these people be???

I've come to the conclusion that being intelligent is just having the ability to reason and putting it to "good" use...whatever that may be. There have been murderers that were smart as shit right?

The way this works is the ability of reason=basically everyone

putting it to "good" use=doing something with what you got

The dictionary says intelligence is:

The capacity to acquire and apply knowledge

And being intelligent simply "having intelligence"